This is our own independent research from public sources. The employer hasn't reviewed, paid for or approved it.

Key figures

Range of Co-op apprenticeships, from funeral team member to solicitor
Level 2–7
Source: Co-op (opens in a new tab)
Length of the Level 7 solicitor apprenticeship
6 years
Source: Co-op (opens in a new tab)
Length of the Level 3 customer team leader apprenticeship
18 months
Source: Co-op (opens in a new tab)

Overview

Co-op is owned by its members and runs food stores, funeral homes and legal services, among other businesses. Its apprenticeships reach a surprising range of careers.

The apprenticeships

Apprenticeship Level Length
Customer team leader (food stores) 3 18 months
Funeral team member 2 Not stated
Funeral director 3 Not stated
Food technologist, with a BSc (Hons) 6 3 years
Solicitor 7 6 years

The support centre also runs apprenticeships in property, finance, engineering, project management, HR, supply chain and marketing.

Who can apply

Co-op says its apprenticeships are open to school leavers, college leavers and graduates. It doesn’t publish pay on its apprenticeships page, so check each role.

What they do

Co-op runs food stores, funeral homes and legal services, among other businesses, and is owned by its members. It offers apprenticeships across these businesses and its support centre.

Apprenticeships they offer

  • Customer team leader

    Food stores

    • Advanced Level 3

    A Level 3 apprenticeship in Co-op Food.

  • Funeral team member or funeral director

    Funeralcare

    • Intermediate Level 2
    • Advanced Level 3

    Funeral Team Member at Level 2 or Funeral Director at Level 3.

  • Food technologist

    Food technology

    • Degree Levels 6–7

    A Level 6 apprenticeship with a BSc (Hons) degree from Sheffield Hallam University, studying one day a week.

  • Solicitor apprenticeship

    Legal services

    • Degree Levels 6–7

    A Level 7 apprenticeship leading to becoming a fully qualified solicitor.

Programmes change from year to year, so check the official site for the latest details.

Career areas

  • Food retail
  • Funeral care
  • Food technology
  • Legal
  • Property
  • Finance
  • Supply chain

Entry requirements

We have not found entry requirements published in a form we can verify for this employer. They usually vary by programme, so check each role's details on the official site.

Who can apply

  • Co-op says its apprenticeships are open to school leavers, college leavers and graduates.
  • Co-op says it will never ask applicants to pay for visa sponsorship or recruitment costs.

Our tips for Co-op

Our own tips, not information from the employer.

  • Co-op covers very different areas, from stores and funeral care to law and food science, so look beyond the shop floor.
  • The solicitor apprenticeship takes six years but leads to becoming a fully qualified solicitor, without a law degree first.
  • Co-op doesn't publish pay on its apprenticeships page, so check each role.

Summary

  • Co-op runs apprenticeships from Level 2 to Level 7 across food stores, funeral care, food technology and legal services.
  • Its customer team leader apprenticeship is Level 3 and takes 18 months.
  • A Level 6 food technologist apprenticeship includes a BSc (Hons) from Sheffield Hallam University.
  • Its six-year Level 7 solicitor apprenticeship leads to becoming a fully qualified solicitor.

Questions about Co-op apprenticeships

What apprenticeships does Co-op offer?

Apprenticeships from Level 2 to Level 7, including customer team leader in food stores, funeral team member and funeral director, food technologist and solicitor, plus support centre roles.

Can you become a solicitor through a Co-op apprenticeship?

Yes. Co-op runs a six-year Level 7 solicitor apprenticeship that leads to becoming a fully qualified solicitor.

Does Co-op do degree apprenticeships?

Yes. Its Level 6 food technologist apprenticeship takes three years and includes a BSc (Hons) from Sheffield Hallam University. Read our degree apprenticeships guide.

Who can apply for a Co-op apprenticeship?

Co-op says its apprenticeships are open to school leavers, college leavers and graduates.

Sources and review

Last reviewed . Details can change after this date, so check the official source before you rely on them.

  1. Co-op Apprenticeships (opens in a new tab) Co-op · accessed

Read about how we research and review content.

Keep exploring

More employers in Retail and logistics

About this industry
  • Amazon UK

    Amazon has more than 20 UK apprenticeship programmes, from Level 3 mechatronics engineering in its warehouses to Level 6 software development and management degree apprenticeships.

    Industry: Retail and logistics, Digital and technology, Engineering and manufacturing
    • L3 Advanced
    • L4–5 Higher
    • L6–7 Degree
  • Lidl GB

    The supermarket chain with stores across Great Britain. It runs a four-year Retail Leadership degree apprenticeship from £27,040, rising to £37,333 as a Store Manager, and an IT degree apprenticeship from £28,500 at its head office.

    Industry: Retail and logistics, Digital and technology
    • L6–7 Degree
  • Marks & Spencer (M&S)

    The clothing, home and food retailer. Its 36-month Retail Leaders programme for school leavers trains you to run a store, with an optional Level 6 apprenticeship, and it runs Level 3 and 4 data apprenticeships lasting 18 months.

    Industry: Retail and logistics
    • L3 Advanced
    • L4–5 Higher
    • L6–7 Degree